Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

From Graduand to Graduate

Leave a comment

As it approaches a fortnight since I graduated with an upper class degree in Psychology, it came to my attention that I didn’t ever mark the occasion with a blog post. [This partly down to the fact that I am a slave to all things school uniform for the third summer running, and when I’m not, I am sleeping.] Fear not, on a rare day off I have managed to find the time to dedicate a post to what it is like as a graduate!  I have decided to try something a little different and write a poem to sum up my experience.

*Disclaimer – I am in no way shape or form a natural poet!

Graduation Selfie

Graduation 

As I stand there still in line,

Gown all draped and hat just perched,

To myself I whisper,  “You’ll be just fine”

My eyes they scan, as the hall is searched.

I wish and pray that I don’t fall,

The last thing I want is to be the fool;

It’s a long way down to the end of the hall,

Just stay calm, and keep your cool!

My name it echoes all around,

The steps I then begin to climb;

This moment, really quite profound,

A precious moment that will stand still in time.

My hand he shakes, and wishes me well,

I smile and profess my thanks;

*Thank god it wasn’t me that fell!*

As we all return to the ranks.

Graduation

A photo opportunity of course,

Our hats are launched in their mass;

Laughs and screams until we’re hoarse,

An opportunity I’m glad I didn’t pass.

I stand back and take it in,

Astounded at what I have achieved;

Happiness glows , as I wear such a grin.

But above all  just relieved!

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

Leave a Reply

