Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

Why are people raving about red?

1 Comment

Earlier this week, as I was aimlessly scrolling through my newfeed, an article caught my eye – it was an announcement that 2016 would be the year to see the first Ginger Pride event in England (See here). This seemingly another attempt at equalling rights, as it came the day after gay marriage was cleared across all US states. Now don’t get me wrong, I am delighted that there is finally an emphasis on equality in all aspects of life… however the fascination with red head/ginger/auburn/strawberry (what ever you like to class your red hair as) simply baffles me… as a fellow ginger myself… I really don’t see why my hair colour gets so much attention!

Redhead-Events

What better time to write a post about being ginger than in a heatwave that has engulfed England, and is posing a problem for all red head albinos out there. Here is just a few reasons why I don’t get the hype! Because believe me, it’s not all that fun!

  1. Bullying – I might as well hit the main issue from the word go … high school is not an easy time for any teen, with hormones, emotions and friendship troubles running high it is simply a recipe for trouble! Now add being ginger into the mix and you’ve created the ultimate potion of trouble. I used to get called all sorts – my favourite being “get back in the biscuit tin where you belong” at least it was inventive and went against the grain! The conventional name calling just got boring! Also… something I’ve never understood with one popular insult is that carrot tops are green not orange… at least make your insults accurateHumour aside, my high school years were tough, as on top of the verbal bullying, bullies trying to cut my ponytail off was a weekly occurrence, so was coming home crying every night!
  2. Old Women – Definitely a more lighthearted subject, but all the same, it gets tedious. It doesn’t matter where I am, I can guarantee an old aged pensioner will approach me and tell me what beautiful colour hair I have, and proceed to touch my head. Although this is a beautiful sentiment, it also, more often than not, comes with a life story! (prepared to be late to wherever you were heading – as you are forced to take a trip down memory lane
  3. Hairdressers – The process of getting my haircut would be one hell of a lot quicker if the hairdressers didn’t try to  colour match my hair (which you can’t by the way!) so that they can see if they can make a dye for their clients wanting the ‘natural red look’. The verdict every time is that it isn’t even the conventional copper associated with ginger hair, is a mix between gold and strawberry blonde!
  4. Genetics – Have you ever seen an olive complexion on a red-head? No, no you haven’t …. We usually fall in the category of albino and have to head for the white porcelain foundation shade and the factor 50+ sun lotion …. and still burn. This makes surviving heat-waves like today without the lobster look is increasingly difficult.
  5. Crowd Spotting – Now, this can a rather useful quality for your friends, as it doesn’t matter how busy a crowd is, your friends will spot you, as if you are sending off a light signal! Prospects of becoming the next ‘Where’s Wally!?’ is a non starter!
  6. Stereotypes – Much against popular belief, I do have a soul and I don’t have a short temper! And no, I don’t come from Scotland.
  7. Crayola – Thanks to crayon companies, you will forever be portrayed as a flourescent orange blob on children’s’ drawings!
  8. The lack of eyebrows – If you want eyebrows then they are going to have to be drawn on, finding the right shade and amount is another issue… but inevitably makeup has to be your friends. Similarly with eyelashes, unless you want to wear copius amounts of mascara every day – tinting is the way forward.
  9. Freckles – The only way you are going to get anything that resembles a tan, is to play dot to dot with your freckles! and in my case, as I have grown up, my freckles on my face no longer come out, and sit below the skin, giving of a glowing shade of dirty!
  10. Pain Tolerance – People with red hair require more anaesthesia to numb pain, meaning they feel more pain in the first place! Although, this has since been my get out of jail free card for being a wimp.

So there is my list of reasons why I think being ginger is over rated. However, it isn’t all bleak and miserable! Thanks to the likes of Prince Harry and Ed Sheeran, we are becoming a fashionable breed! And a rare one at that!

I will however leave you with a musical genius, that hits the nail on the head with this topic.

* Disclaimer – Tim Minchin has a ‘unique’ approach, which some my find offensive*

If you need me, you will find me in a shady spot in a bath of after sun!


Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

One thought on “Why are people raving about red?

  1. Catherine Tate, while speaking over the phone with an animal shelter, was told they had a cat for her to adopt which had one problem – it was ginger. She got offended and adopted the very same cat! I can see how getting the “natural” ginger hair is a problem for colorists. It is a very subtle colour, a neon red is more common. Though I think there are many beautiful women with red hair, from the dyed-hair of Emma Stone (who chooses red over her natural blonde) to Karen Gillan (who just looks ‘wrong’ in any other colour except her natural one).

Leave a Reply

