Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

Second Class, Division One

Leave a comment

As many of you are aware, this year marked the final year of my undergraduate degree in Psychology. As you can probably tell from my very long stint away from the blogging world, it became an all consuming battle to keep my head above water. Without a doubt it is the hardest thing I have ever done, and my god did it take everything I had.

uni

My life, post dissertation that is, mainly consisted of 10 hours a day sitting at my dining room table (if you could identify it under the reams of paper!) trawling through my notes, hoping, praying and generally begging the information to seep into my skull. It was a rather dismal description of ‘living life’ as I certainly did not have anything that resembled a life, out of the four walls that I call home.

Despite my love of knowledge and learning being a part of me for all my years in education, it has simply never come easy. I always had to work 10x harder to meet my own expectations, that realistically have always been so high. Now don’t get me wrong, I have been elated with the grades that I have previously received, and I can’t complain as they have always got me to where I need/wanted to be, however, I felt that the effort I put in, was never quite reflected with dazzling results. Knowing this, you can only imagine how I felt yesterday when I was walking to get my results.

Now let me describe that fateful walk: My campus is stunning, it is green, home to some spectacular wildlife and a gorgeous trip into university. However, yesterday, raining and miserable, I saw none of that. As I traipsed along the path trying to avoid throwing up and bursting into tears, all I saw was the long winding path that would lead me to my fate (dramatic I know, but nerves just doesn’t describe it). I genuinely felt like I was walking to an execution!

Our grades are posted on a board, with our candidate numbers and grades all aligned. Do you know how difficult it is to distinguish your own number when all start with 2100 and you can barely see for tears! I finally found my number, and to my total disbelief, I had done it! I had bagged myself a 2:1 and could no longer hold back the tears! It has been a roller coaster of a ride, that at many points I have wanted to get off, but it is over and I have jumped that final hurdle, I could not be more happy or relieved. The stress of the last three years have been totally worth it.

Despite academically achieving the dream, the best thing about my university experience is the friends that I have met along the way – the ones who never doubted me. That alone made this experience 100% worthwhile, regardless of my academic outcome!

From undergraduate to postgraduate – let this crazy journey continue!

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

Leave a Reply

