Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

Phobias

3 Comments

According to medical statistics needle phobia is a medical condition that affects up to 20-23% of adults- to the point where they would actively avoid medical care…

Now, as a psychologist and a complete needle phobe, I am fully aware of how phobias work and what goes on in my head when presented with the prospect of needles! I am aware it is completely irrational, and neither can I tell you what I am actually scared of, nor where I developed this phobia from… all I know is that it is something that has always resulted in me bawling like a baby in the surgery …. highly embarrassing!

I am also one of those annoying patients, that just does not have time for small talk.. I do not want to discuss what I am doing at the weekend, because I know exactly what you are trying to do, and the distraction just doesn’t work.. inevitably you are going to stab that sharp thing into my arm, regardless of whether I discuss my weekend plans with you!

I discuss this hideous topic, as tomorrow I am having to have my vaccinations to travel to Egypt… now this is controversial in itself… I have always had issues with vaccinations even if it directly related to my health, and I was never going to… ever, going to a country where I would have to have an injection … I simply didn’t see the point in putting myself through hell and back for a holiday… That was my 15 year old self mind set anyway… at 21, the thought of needing a injection for a holiday is no more appealing…. but my 21 years old self wants to see the world, to experience one in a life time opportunities, and I refuse to let myself miss out over a poxy needle! (ask me again tomorrow and I may have a completely different perspective!)

So, there we have it, tomorrow I shall probably be dragged kicking and screaming into the doctors surgery, apologize profusely to all involved, and cry for 20 minutes, where, if I actually just sucked it up, would probably take a grand total of 2 minutes …. Studying phobias makes this whole process utterly frustrating!

The day I have to have a blood test, will be one huge ordeal… and well the day I turn into a pregnant human pin cushion…. I will make sure my child knows what ordeal I went through! (I say I’m joking, but I’m not too sure)

Now I would put a nice illustration in here – but if I’m honest I can’t bring myself to google the word needle! Instead here is a snippit into my thought processes tomorrow!

  • Okay I can do this – you are 21 years old – man up!
  • I CAN’T DO THIS – I WANT MY MUM
  • Charlotte, get a grip! You’re embarrassing yourself
  • NO I DON’T WANNNAAAAAA!!!!
  • I’m really sorry for what you are about to witness! Really I am
  • Shut the hell up, distraction doesn’t work
  • Oh that wasn’t that bad…
  • No actually it was.. never make me go back again!

Hope to touch down soon! I know I haven’t been very present in the blogging world! Final Year of my undergraduate consumes most of the time I have!

Charlotte

From

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

3 thoughts on “Phobias

  1. The only scarier than a needle at the doctor’s office is… not being believed at the doctor’s office when you are truly sick. Ugh. Needles usually mean that cough is being taken seriously. Well said.

Leave a Reply

