Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

#jasonandjane

Leave a comment

On Friday night my bestie and I went to the Royal Albert Hall to see Jason Mraz in concert.
Firstly, Kensington is beautiful and overwhelmingly high brow, I definitely felt out of place.  As I gaped at the white fronted housing and the imperial college my excitement was building, it is a concert I have wanted to see for ages, but in fact, booking tickets was rather spontaneous, as we realised he hasn’t been to London since 2008 and the timing of his tour discovery was just perfect.

albert hall

As we arrived outside, it was genuinely one of the most beautiful buildings I have ever stepped inside, so majestic, and the perfect venue for a concert I had been so desperate to see.

His supporting act was his collaboration partners Raining Jane, apart from what I had heard from them on Jason’s album, I didn’t really know much about them. They weren’t the reason that I was excited, after all Jason was who we were there to see… how wrong I was, they were incredible, they are so insanely talented, and I think I counted between the four of them they played at least 9 instruments. You could genuinely see they loved their job, it was their first UK venue and they were in awe just as much as we were.

I was seriously impressed at how soon Jason Mraz appeared, it must have only been 20 minutes after it had been so incredibly started by Raining Jane and he sang all the way through !

From old school to promoting his recent album YES! It was one of the best live acts I have ever seen, he sounds just like he does in the recording student and oozes life on stage! He is genuinely a really normal human being who hasn’t let stardom invade his brain like a disease.

He even did this amazingly crazy falsetto opera number in the middle, which just proved how much of a raw talent he is. Raining Jane continued to perform with him on stage for the entirety of the night which was a really nice touch because he definitely saw them as equally talented artists that weren’t just there to support him.

#jasonandjane

It felt like a really intimate concert, despite there being thousands of us sitting right the way from the floor up into the gods of this beautiful building, he made it feel personal to each and every one of us in the room. Audience participation was great, with hand actions and mass chorus singing he had us involved from the start, even getting a girl on stage to ‘drive’ along to one of his new songs ‘Long Drives’ (Why oh why did I not book that seat!!?)…. his rapping has always been incredible, and that was great fun to join in with (although it is definitely my bestie’s forte and not mine – she is amazing at it!)

He promoted some great ethics throughout the concert too, with one of the highlights focusing on global warming… this was shown by a trip to the arctic and them essentially having a blast! They were miming the words on the video that they were performing in front of us live on stage – it was amazing!

seal

^That being one of my favourite shots of the night!

I have a feeling that I’m rambling, but it was just all too much to summarise in a blog post! Easily one of the best nights of my life! It was like a concert, a comedy and a chat show all rolled into one amazing venue!

As I am slowly returning back down to earth after such an incredible night, I am now about to enter my final year of my degree, I’m feeling pretty stressed about it, and already writing reminders to remind me about reminders! So apologies if i go awol (not that I have ever been very good at posting regularly anyway!)

So for now, so long! and hopefully be back in touch soon!

Charlotte

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

Leave a Reply

