Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

An Open Letter To My Dad

5 Comments

My post recently posted on the fickle heartbeat

The Fickle Heartbeat

An Open Letter To My Dad

Shared by Charl.

I’ve been wanting to post about this for a while, but it’s taken a little to time to find the courage to write about it so openly… it’s always been something I haven’t wanted to publicly face – but now I feel is the right time to express what I have wanted to do for so long but have been simply too scared too.
*In the very unlikely chance that you are reading this Dad, I hope this hits home …*

Dear Dad Biologically related human being ,

You left a year and a half ago, you left, and chose your love affair over your children. I gave you a final choice, and you still chose her. That day you turned my world upside down, shook it up, and stood on what remained for good measure…. suddenly I didn’t know anything anymore, nothing at all…

View original post 736 more words

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

5 thoughts on “An Open Letter To My Dad

  1. It’s always hard when the very person you look up to breaks your heart before any boys do. I can relate, because I’m going through the same situation (kind of). The only difference is my Mom’s dead and my Dad actually have the balls to shove his dirty deeds in our faces. My situation may seem better since everything he’s doing, he did it after my Mom passed away, but it wasn’t, especially when you actually thought that a simple letter could change him. You know, I once did what you just did – I wrote him a letter. I actually gave the letter to him. It was my first birthday 9 months my Mom died. By that time he already had a girlfriend and we were falling apart because he wasted his money my Mom left for him on his new girlfriend. I thought I’d changed his mind by bravely writing that letter. I was wrong. He still brought the girl to my party. He even left home to be with that girl. They’re no longer together, and he wasted all of his money on a single girl, but we (me and my siblings) kept being an abiding daughter. Many girlfriends have passed after the first one (who were all younger than me) but his current girlfriend is the worse. I hate the fact that he made her stay in our house without even asking us if it was okay. But what’s worse is he got her pregnant… TWICE. They’re not married, and everyone knows that the girl is a whore. Personally I don’t think it’s his, but he’s so naive and stupid he thinks it’s his.

    I’ve never had a boyfriend, and I’m 28. People have been bugging about having one already getting married soon, but it’s just so hard to get into a relationship when your own father broke your heart first. I once wrote that I wish I could breakup with my own family, because then I would certainly break up with him. But we can’t, and that’s a sad fact we all have to live with.

    I’m sorry for whatever your dad did to you. I’ve stopped caring for him as well, and I hate his guts for whatever he’s doing to us, but there’s still a single fire burning inside my chest that hopes for a divine intervention that he will go back to his senses someday.

    *virtual hug*

    • Wow! Strong stuff! I’m really sorry you’ve been put through so much at such a young age!
      I do think it’s hard when your dad doesn’t provide you with the trust in men.. But I keep telling myself they aren’t all like that, and one day someone will prove me wrong!

      Stay strong, know that you’re the better person and that your mum would be ever so proud of you! X

  2. Pingback: Hey, Neighbor! Let’s Talk. | When My Brain Farts

  3. Pingback: Wounded | When My Brain Farts

  4. I commented on your post on FickleHeartbeat, but wanted to post it here as well….

    Wow, this hit home for me. Could have actually written this myself. My dad has never met my daughter and I feel for you Charl as this too might become your reality. Finding forgiveness is the most freeing thing I’ve found. I wrote a post awhile back on forgiveness… check it out if you have the time… it’s the only thing that helps to heal the pain. http://lightthelie.wordpress.com/2014/09/03/a-prisoner-by-choice/ I’m here with you sister! ❤ Sending lots of love your way. Thank you for writing this, as I am not brave enough to make this post yet!

Leave a Reply

