Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

Dear, My Former Self

2 Comments

Okay, as a new blogger it isn’t great that my inspiration for blogging ideas is looking more like a desert than a stream (Already!). However, thinking about what to blog about has made me scrutinize every little element of who I am. Until now, I thought that I hadn’t really changed since I was 16, or atleast I didn’t feel any different. But then I realised I do feel different…. I am different.

This prompted me to attempt (attempt being the important word) to write a letter to my former self, to advise and direct a younger, more naive version of me… so here goes!

Dear Mini Me,

*pssst! it’s your very own jiminy cricket… well okay it’s a older version of you, but everyone can wish upon a star right!?*

I’m here to be your very own star in the sky… to reassure, to guide and let’s be honest give you a good slap!

So you’re finishing high school! It isn’t the end of the world, why are you crying!? You’re back in September and are going to have the time of your life! Just enjoy it, the tears and the worry just aren’t necessary, seriously you do fine! Whatever, don’t believe me, but let me tell you something, the wake up calls are only going to get louder!
Fast forward >>>>>>>>>>>>>>
It’s A level results day (see I told you that you did just fine) you got into college and yes, despite the odds, you did it, you got into university! Was all that worry really neccessary!? Yes okay, the tears and the heartbreak of leaving for good are justified but seriously, you are about to go on the most incredible journey! Just take a chill pill and make the most of that super long summer!

So that girl that wrote on the universities music facebook page about playing saxophone too, well, yeah you live with her, for two years! She becomes the first friend for life that you encounter!

Ah I see, you’re standing there on the corner of your new life, waving goodbye to everything you knew (seriously, stop being so dramatic! you’re only 2 hours away, it’s called visiting, get used to it!). Yes, yes I know you hate change, blah blah blah believe me, you’re about to discover a whole new world that you can’t imagine being any different! Just as a warning though, don’t take family life for granted … just a heads up!

So you know when I told you about that whole new life you were about to discover, well yeah, you guessed it, that girl you looked up to, in that society that you so nervously attended, is about to become, well she is about to become your best friend that you totally adore! (SEE! I told you change was amazing!) and you won’t be able to imagine how you ever lived without her before!

Owww, I know it hurts, it hurts a lot, but don’t tell me that I didn’t warn you. Yes, you can’t imagine life not ever talking to your dad again, you can’t imagine that feeling of betrayal ever going away (but I promise you, you come to realise you don’t need people that let you down in your life, and you won’t care anymore!

Okay, so housing didn’t work out great, you’re living with two strangers next year, it’s not ideal, but you have no idea what is about to happen next… one of those strangers is about to become one of your closest friends, who you and Alex are about to become the housing dream team!

And you’ll never believe it… you get a 2:1 in second year.. YES A 2:1 !!! Oh and pretty much get your dream modules… and next comes… oh we’ve reached present me… well this is awkward! Well mini me, you’re on your own now… many amazing things may have happened, but seeing into the future isn’t one of them.

So that’s it from me (well you)… just remember, don’t stress, don’t worry and never regret!

Lots of love,

Your future self

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

2 thoughts on “Dear, My Former Self

  1. That sounds encouraging, you’re doing fine 🙂 Also, congrats on your new blog theme 😉

    • Thank you! I’m a prone worrier, and every time I’m prove myself wrong, should probably continue to practice what I preach 😉 Thanks, can’t really take credit for it, my bestie created it for me (she’s a little bit clever!) but I love it 🙂

Leave a Reply

