Confessions of a Ginger

A day in the life of a ginger

When I was your age…

7 Comments

When I was your age, we didn’t have all these toys to play with, we were happy with a lump of coal!

If I had a pound for every time my grandparents used to say this to me, lets just say I wouldn’t be needing my very hefty student loan! It was a frequent comment made, ( especially at Christmas and Birthday’s) and it used to drive me completely potty! It almost became and an expected tradition, one that always came with an eye roll!

Yet today, I am disgusted to say, that I found myself doing just that… (60 years too soon!!)

It was my cousins 10th Birthday, now, however old this might make me sound, I’m sure my 10th birthday party involved pass the parcel and musical statues… bumps if I was lucky! Yet here I was standing in the garden watching my seven year old cousin taking “selfies” with her Ipad, whilst my other cousin, who is now the big ten zero..  was texting his friend about his recent achievement on FIFA 14! I sat there watching, as my youngest cousin was pulling very impressive ‘duck faces’ and walking down the slide pretending to be sassy! Now call me old fashioned but what happened to what I understood was supposed to be a childhood!? All I can say is good luck to my Aunty and Uncle for when the dreaded teenage years hit!

As they are navigating themselves round the multiple items of technology I find it sad that, this is it, the beginning to the end of their childhood, far far to soon! Don’t get me wrong they are lovely and full of life children, that still love to ride their bikes and play at the park… but it suddenly dawned on me that as each year passes, each child’s childhood gets shorter and shorter, until we are all adults and we seemed to have missed our childhood. I know for one I don’t feel old enough to be graduating in a years time!

I just hope that in the future technology won’t completely over run our lives and erase childhood completely… she says as she has her laptop, IPhone and Kindle next to her! **cough, hypocrite, cough **

None the less we had a lovely time … despite me getting stuck in the slide several times! (total kid!) and celebrated in style with a Mine Craft birthday cake to finish it off!

When I was your age

 

Author: Charl

Hi! I'm Charlotte, I'm 21 years old . Psychology graduate, trainee primary teacher and wannabe blogger. I hope that you enjoy your visit!

7 thoughts on “When I was your age…

  1. Story of my life, bro. But then again, I’m like an old woman….. Xxx

  2. Reblogged this on New Teacher Life and commented:
    Hey everyone! My bestie just started blogging and this is her first post! She’s super cool and a bit nutters…. Give her a helping hand and have a look? We all know it sucks when you’re starting out and no one notices you!
    Sare x

  3. I terribly envy today’s kids and I’m not ashamed to admit it… With all their electronics and stuff — when I was ten, Internet hardly existed, and when I went to college, it was considered a luxury to have a laptop, now such a basic thing…

  4. Pingback: looking brighter | New Teacher Life

  5. Looks like fun! I know what you mean though, I’ve found myself thinking the same thing, especially with iPads! There was simply no toy to compare when we were kids..

Leave a Reply

